Florian Huber

Vita and Qualifications

Well preserved Maya Pottery in one of Mexicos Cenotes (Photo: Uli Kunz)<br>

Well preserved Maya Pottery in one of Mexicos Cenotes (Photo: Uli Kunz)

Underwater Archaeologist and Scientific Diver

Born in Munich in 1975 and having grown up in the beautiful Isar area of Lenggries, I studied Archaeology, Anthropology and Nordic Ethnology in Munich, Umeå (Sweden) and in Kiel from 1997 onwards. Aside from the mountains, I've always been fascinated by water and the sea, which is why I decided to specialize in Underwater Archaeology and Scientific Diving, making my way to Kiel in the far north of Germany. It was there that I was able to combine archaeology and diving. From 2007 - 2013 I worked as a researcher at the Institute of Proto- and Prehistoric Archaeology at the University of Kiel, focusing on Underwater Archaeology and Historic Archaeology, and from 2004 - 2014 I’ve served as head of the local study group for Maritime and Limnic Archaeology (AMLA).

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Christian Howe

Photo: Christian Howe

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Uli Kunz

Expeditions and excavations that I’ve taken part in include projects in Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Ghana, Mexico, Chile, New Zealand, the Azores, the Pacific and Sudan. Since 1992 I’ve been traveling the world as an avid scuba diver, and in 2002 I graduated to "european scientific diver" from the Scientific Dive Center of Kiel University, where I served on the training team from 2008 to 2012. In 2013, together with my friends and colleagues, I founded SUBMARIS, a service company in the field of scientific diving for academia and the media.

Home Sweet Home in my beloved Bavaria (Photo: Christian Howe)

Home Sweet Home in my beloved Bavaria (Photo: Christian Howe)

As an archeologist – and underwater archaeologist – I never committed myself to a specific
epoch. I find both Stone Age settlements and modern shipwrecks fascinating and exciting. This is also reflected in my work, projects and publications. Although the underwater research is difficult and often quite time consuming, this is precisely part of the appeal for me. I love the challenges presented and strive for efficient operation, maximum safety and the use of advanced diving and working techniques. Exploring our diverse and unique cultural treasures under water, while protecting it and inspiring people is my passion! My work as a scientific diver allows me to stay active in many other subaquatic sciences such as biology, geology, geography, and oceanography. It is precisely this interdisciplinary approach that makes working as a scientific diver so exciting for me.

Photo: Robert Lehmann

Photo: Robert Lehmann

Photo: Aliscia Young

Photo: Aliscia Young

SWR Talkshow

SWR Talkshow

Diving Qualifications

Trained as:

  • Scientific Diver (European Scientific Diver), Scientific Dive Centre of the Institute of Geosciences at University of Kiel, 2002
  • Surface supplied diver – Biological Institute Helgoland. Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Bremerhaven

Additional Certification:

  • "Dive mission lead for scientific divers" (“Taucheinsatzleiter für Forschungstaucher”, or TEL) by the German Commission for Scientific Diving (Kommission Forschungstauchen Deutschland, or KFT), TEL No. D-52
  • Advanced European Scientific Diver (AESD), KFT, Certification No .: AESD D-55
  • Training assistant for scientific diver training (“Ausbildungshelfer für die Ausbildung von Forschungstauchern”), KFT, in accordance with “use of scientific divers" (“Einsatz von Forschungstauchern” - Annex 3, Section 2, GUV-R 2112)
  • "Archaeological research diver" by the German Commission for Underwater Archaeology

Furthermore, I am a dive instructor (TDI-SDI), mixed gas diver (GUE TEC II), full cave diver (NACD) as well as an authorized certification representative for VDST and CMAS special courses for heritage diving, underwater archaeology I and II.

Photo: Bruno Cazarini<br>

Photo: Bruno Cazarini

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Uli Kunz

Photo: Uli Kunz

Florian Huber

Vita und Qualifikationen


English version here
English version here.

Gut erhaltenes Gefäß der Maya in einer der unzähligen Cenoten Mexikos (Foto: Uli Kunz)<br>

Gut erhaltenes Gefäß der Maya in einer der unzähligen Cenoten Mexikos (Foto: Uli Kunz)

1975 in München geboren und im wunderschönen Isarwinkel in Lenggries aufgewachsen, studierte ich ab 1997 Ur- und Frühgeschichte, Anthropologie, Nordische Philologie und Ethnologie in München, Umeå (Schweden) sowie in Kiel. Da ich neben den Bergen schon immer auch von Wasser bzw. dem Meer fasziniert war, habe ich beschlossen, mich auf die Unterwasserarchäologie sowie das Forschungstauchen zu spezialisieren und trat deswegen den Weg in den hohen Norden nach Kiel an. Dort konnte ich Archäologie und Tauchen verbinden! Von 2007 – 2013 war ich wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Ur- und Frühgeschichte der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel mit Schwerpunkt Unterwasserarchäologie und historische Archäologie und von 2004 - 2014 Leiter der dortigen Arbeitsgruppe für maritime und limnische Archäologie (AMLA).

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Christian Howe

Foto: Christian Howe

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Uli Kunz

Expeditionen und Ausgrabungen führten mich mehrfach nach Schweden, Norwegen, Island, Ghana, Mexiko, Chile, Neuseeland, auf die Azoren, in den Pazifik sowie in den Sudan. Seit 1992 weltweit als begeisterter Sporttaucher unterwegs, absolvierte ich 2002 die Ausbildung zum „geprüften Forschungstaucher“ am Forschungstauchzentrum der CAU Kiel und war dort von 2008–2012 im Ausbildungsteam tätig. 2013 gründete ich zusammen mit meinen Freunden und Kollegen die Firma SUBMARIS, ein Dienstleistungsunternehmen im Bereich Forschungstauchen für Wissenschaft und Medien.

In meiner bayerischen Heimat (Foto: Christian Howe)

In meiner bayerischen Heimat (Foto: Christian Howe)

Als (Unterwasser-)Archäologe habe ich mich zeitlich und räumlich nie festgelegt. Ich finde sowohl steinzeitliche Siedlungen als auch neuzeitliche Schiffswracks faszinierend und spannend. Das spiegelt sich auch in meinen Arbeiten, Projekten und Publikationen wider. Obwohl die Forschungsarbeiten unter Wasser schwierig und meistens sehr zeitaufwändig sind, liegt genau darin der Reiz für mich. Effizientes Arbeiten, maximale Sicherheit und der Einsatz hochmoderner Tauch- und Arbeitstechnik sehe ich als meine immer wiederkehrende Herausforderung an. Unser vielfältiges und einzigartiges Kulturgut unter Wasser zu erforschen, zu schützen und Menschen dafür zu begeistern ist meine Passion! Durch meine Arbeit als Forschungstaucher bin ich aber auch mit vielen anderen subaquatischen Wissenschaften wie der Biologie, der Geologie, der Geografie oder der Ozeanografie in Berührung gekommen. Gerade dieser interdisziplinäre Ansatz macht die Arbeit als Forschungstaucher für mich so spannend …

Foto: Robert Lehmann

Foto: Robert Lehmann

Foto: Aliscia Young

Foto: Aliscia Young

SWR Talkshow

SWR Talkshow

Taucherische Qualifikationen

  • Ausbildung zum »Geprüften Forschungstaucher« (European Scientific Diver) am Forschungstauchzentrum des Instituts für Geowissenschaften der CAU Kiel, 2002
  • Anerkennung zum »Taucheinsatzleiter für Forschungstaucher« (TEL) durch die Kommission Forschungstauchen Deutschland (KFT), TEL Nr. D-52
  • »Schlauchversorgtes Tauchen«, Biologische Anstalt Helgoland. Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI), Bremerhaven
  • Anerkennung zum »Advanced European Scientific Diver« (AESD) durch die Kommission Forschungstauchen Deutschland (KFT), Certification Nr.: AESD D-55
  • Anerkennung zum »Ausbildungshelfer für die Ausbildung von Forschungstauchern« durch die Kommission Forschungstauchen Deutschland (KFT), gemäß Anhang 3, Abschnitt 2, der GUV-R 2112 „Einsatz von Forschungstauchern“
  • Anerkennung zum »Archäologischer Forschungstaucher« durch die Kommission für Unterwasserarchäologie des Verbandes der Landesarchäologen in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Des Weiteren bin ich Tauchlehrer (TDI-SDI), Mischgastaucher (GUE TEC II), Höhlentaucher (NACD) sowie Abnahmeberechtigter für die VDST und CMAS Spezialkurse Denkmalgerechtes Tauchen, Unterwasserarchäologie I und II

Foto: Bruno Cazarini<br>

Foto: Bruno Cazarini

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Uli Kunz

Foto: Uli Kunz